HP Polls: Essential Services Employees Will Vote By Mail

According to an official statement, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Maneesh Garg said on Tuesday that Absentee Voters in Essential Services (AVES) can use absentee ballots to vote by submitting Form 12-D to the returning officer. (RO).

This category of essential service workers includes doctors, paramedics, health department ambulance service, HRTC drivers and conductors, excluding local bus services, emergency services fire, milk supply department personnel from HP State Milk Federation and Milk Cooperative. Companies, local media authorized by ECI, pump operator and turner in Jal Shakti prefecture and electrician and lineman in HPSEB, who are registered to vote can vote by postal ballot .

According to Garg, these AVES will receive certificates from the departmental nodal offices as per the guidelines of the Election Commission of India.

The CEO said that these absentee ballot applications should reach the Returning Officer (RO) by October 21, 2022. This facility is being extended for the first time in Himachal Pradesh.

The electoral commission had previously announced that people aged over 80 and people with more than 40% disabilities could vote by postal ballot.

Himachal Pradesh is very important despite its small size. It is one of the states in which voters typically elect a new government every five years. Therefore, despite winning statehood in 2017, the BJP is aware that it faces a formidable opponent in Congress, which enjoys substantial regional support.

The resurgent AAP, which is also entering the race in Himachal Pradesh after a landslide victory in neighboring Punjab state, poses a formidable threat to outgoing Chief Minister Jairam Thakur.

The Congress is buoyed by its victories in the Mandi Lok Sabha seat and three assembly seats – Fatehpur, Arki and Jubbal-Kotkhai – in the Himachal Pradesh by-elections last year in hopes of maximizing its chances .

The deadline for submitting candidacy for the Himachal Pradesh Assembly elections is 25 October.

Voting for the 68-member assembly of Himachal Pradesh will take place on November 12.

Congress on Tuesday announced its first slate of 46 candidates for the upcoming Assembly elections in the state with top party leaders including Kaul Singh Thakur, Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu, Mukesh Agnihotri, Asha Kumari and Chander Kumar. Vikramaditya Singh, son of former Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh, was again seconded from Shimla Rural.

Congress is seeking to oust the BJP and has given “guarantees” to the people of the state. In the 2017 elections, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 44 seats while the Congress got 21.

The BJP core group meeting was held in the nation’s capital on Monday. The meeting took place at Haryana Bhawan in Delhi.

Chief Minister Jairam Thakur, BJP State Chairman Suresh Kashyap, National Vice President and Head of Elections Saudan Singh and Central Minister Anurag Thakur were present at the meeting.

On Saturday, Union Home Minister Amit Shah launched the party’s campaign song for the assembly election “Himachal Ki Pukaar Phir BJP Sarkar” at a public rally in Sirmour, in Himachal Pradesh.

The political future of the Himalayan state seems to be in flux at the moment. The BJP would become the first party to retain its position since 1985 if it managed to maintain its grip.

The counting of votes will take place on December 8.

Catch all the trade news, market news, breaking news and latest updates on Live Mint. Download the Mint News app to get daily market updates.

More less

Michelle J. Kelley